Click Here to Start a New Search

Local Officials Offices

Code: TD-6600.4500

The offices of individuals who have been appointed or elected to a town, city, county or other local public office for a specified tenure and who are thereby in a position to exercise that portion of the sovereign functions of government that are conferred on that office. Forty-eight of the 50 states have operational county governments. Connecticut and Rhode Island are divided into geographic regions called counties, but they do not have functioning governments. Alaska calls its counties boroughs and Louisiana calls them parishes. Cities and towns may also have other designations including townships, boroughs and villages.

See Also: